LLC US States Fees 2024

Explore 2024 LLC formation fees in various US states. Learn about costs, requirements, and compare state-by-state fees for starting your business.

Table of Content

One of the first questions LLC businessmen want to know when they start to form their LLC company is: How much will they have to pay in fees in the US to set up their LLC? Though this is a tough answer to find online, after researching different state government sources, we will explain here all the LLC fees in the US you need to pay for launching an LLC.

The fact is, as an LLC business owner, if you fail to pay any state fees for an LLC, you may lose your legal entity (LLC) at any time. So, when someone in the US wants to start an LLC, they should first remember to pay state fees on time and file annual tax returns.

Many non-residents dream of establishing a business in the United States, but they are not often concerned about the state fees they need to pay for LLCs. For them, deciding on appropriate states in the US for their business is as challenging as comparing the states by different state fees and annual filings.

Now, how do you guys learn all this business information at once? Don’t worry. We are here to clarify, one by one the states’ filing fees and annual fees for your better understanding.

Stay tuned.

What Is the Meaning of the LLC Filing Fee?

When you start your LLC company in any of the states in the US, you need to pay a fee for filing the required legal documents; that is called the LLC filing fee. It is a one-time fee you must pay for your LLC. Most of the state fees remain constant in the annual filing. But in some US states, fees may vary. Such as LLC annual fees in Texas are $0, and LLC annual fees in Florida are $138.75.

What Is the LLC Annual State Fee?

The LLC annual fee is an obligatory fee paid to the state every year to keep your LLC in good standing and in compliance with the law. According to the state, you must pay LLC annual state fees every 1 or 2 years. This fee is compulsory regardless of the income or activity of your LLC.

Therefore, you must pay the LLC’s annual fee every year. If you fail to pay the annual fee, the state will dissolve or close your LLC company at any time.

State NameFiling Fee ($)Annual Fee ($)DuePayable ToForm Name
Alabama LLC$200$50 minimum2.5 months after formation and annually by April 15AL Department of RevenueInitial Business Privilege Tax Return
Alaska LLC$250$100Biennial, January 2AK Department of CCEDBiennial Report
Arizona LLC$50$0No need for the annual fee and no report dueN/AN/A
Arkansas LLC$45$150Yearly, May 1AR Secretary of StateFranchise Tax Report
California LLC$70$800 and $20VariousCA Franchise Tax BoardAnnual LLC Franchise Tax + Stmt. of Information
Colorado LLC$50$10During quarter of the anniversary dateCO Secretary of StatePeriodic Report
Connecticut LLC$120$80Annual, March 31CT Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Delaware LLC$90$300Annual, June 1DE Dept. of StateAnnual Franchise Tax
Florida LLC$125$138.75Annual, May 1FL Department of State,Annual Report
Georgia LLC$100$50Annual, April 1GA Secretary of StateAnnual Registration Fee
Hawaii LLC$50$15During the quarter of the anniversary dateHI Business Registration DivisionAnnual Report
Idaho LLC$100$0 (must file a report, but there’s no charge.)Annual, anniversary monthID Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Illinois LLC$150$75Annual, anniversary monthIL Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Indiana LLC$95$30Biennial, anniversary monthIN Secretary of StateBusiness Entity Report
Iowa LLC$50$30Biennial, April 1 of odd yearsIA Secretary of StateBiennial Report
Kansas LLC$160$50Annual, April 15KS Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Kentucky LLC$40$15Annual, June 30KY Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Louisiana LLC$100$35Annual, anniversary monthLA Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Maine LLC$175$85Annual, June 1ME Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Maryland LLC$100$300Annual, April 15MD State Dept. of AssessmentsPersonal Property Tax
Massachusetts LLC$500$500Annual, anniversary monthMA Secretary of the CommonwealthAnnual Report
Michigan LLC$50$25Annual, February 15MI Dept. of LARAAnnual Report
Minnesota LLC$155$0 (must file a report, but there’s no charge)Annual, December 31MN Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Mississipi LLC$50$0 (must file a report, but there’s no charge)Annual, April 15MS Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Missouri LLC$50$0No annual fee and no report are dueN/AN/A
Montana LLC$70 $35$20Annual, April 15MT Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Nebraska LLC$100$13Biennial, April 1 of odd yearsNE Secretary of StateBiennial Report
Nevada LLC$425$350Annually, anniversary monthNV Secretary of StateAnnual List of Members + Business License
New Hampshire LLC$100$100Annual, April 1NH Secretary of StateAnnual Report
New Jersey LLC$125$75Annual, anniversary monthNJ Department of TreasuryAnnual Report
New Mexico LLC$50$0The five-month period that followed the anniversary monthN/AN/A
New York LLC$200$9Biennial, anniversary monthNY Department of StateBiennial Statement
North Carolina LLC$125$200Annual, April 15NC Secretary of StateAnnual Report
North Dakota LLC$135$50Annual, November 15ND Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Ohio LLC$99$0No annual fee and no report are dueN/AN/A
Oklahoma LLC$100$25Annual, anniversary monthOK Secretary of StateAnnual Certificate
Oregon LLC$100$100Annual, anniversary monthOR Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Pennsylvania LLC$125$70Every 10 yearsPA Department of StateDecennial Report
Rhode Island LLC$150$50Annual, February 1 to May 1RI Secretary of StateAnnual Report
South Carolina LLC$110$0No report is necessary unless LLC files taxes as an S-CorpN/AN/A
South Dakota LLC$150$50Annual, anniversary, monthSD Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Tennessee LLC$300$300 minimumAnnual, April 1TN Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Texas LLC$300$0 for most LLCs (but every year you have to make a No Tax Due Report and a Public Information Report)Annual, May 15TX ComptrollerNo report is necessary unless the LLC files taxes as an S-Corp
Utah LLC$54$18Annual, anniversary monthUT Department of CommerceAnnual Report
Vermont LLC$125$35Annual, March 15VT Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Virginia LLC$100$50Annual, anniversary monthVA Corporation CommissionAnnual Registration Fee
Washington LLC$200$60Annual, anniversary monthWA Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Washington DC LLC$99$300Biennial, April 1DCRABiennial Report
West Virginia LLC$100$25Annual, July 1WV Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Wisconsin LLC$130$25Annual, anniversary quarterWI Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Wyoming LLC$100$60 minimumAnnual, anniversary monthWY Secretary of StateAnnual Report

Find a State for LLC by State Comparison

Establishing any type of business can be a big decision for entrepreneurs. With the right steps and rules, every business owner in the US has the legal right to start a company. But it can be tricky sometimes. The primary work of starting a business is to choose which state is suitable for your business.

You can solve this issue by learning and comparing all the states’ fees to form your specific business. State fees can have a significant influence on determining the annual cost of your business; you should be aware of this.

Which Is the Cheapest US State for LLC

Here, let’s talk about the cheapest states and most costly states for LLCs in the US. After going through this section, we are pretty sure that you will be able to decide where you are going to start your LLC and where you are not.

State NameFiling Fee ($)Annual Fee ($)DuePayable ToForm Name
Kentucky LLC$40$15Annual, June 30KY Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Arkansas LLC$45$150Annual, May 1AR Secretary of StateFranchise Tax Report
Arizona LLC$50$0No annual fee and no report dueN/AN/A
Mississipi LLC$50$0 (must file a report, but there is no charge.)Annual, April 15MS Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Missouri LLC$50$0No annual fee and no report dueN/AN/A
New Mexico LLC$50$0No annual fee and no report dueN/AN/A
Colorado LLC$50$10Five-month period that followed the anniversary monthCO Secretary of StatePeriodic Report
Hawaii LLC$50$15During the anniversary quarterHI Business Registration DivisionAnnual Report
Michigan LLC$50$25Annual, February 15MI Dept. of LARAAnnual Report
Iowa LLC$50$30Biennial, April 1 of odd yearsIA Secretary of State
Biennial Report

Which Is the Most Costly US States for LLC?

Here is the list of states where you need to pay more fees than any other state in the US.

State NameFiling Fee ($)Annual Fee ($)DuePayable ToForm Name
California LLC$70$800 + $20VariousCA Franchise Tax BoardAnnual LLC Franchise Tax + Stmt. of Information
Massachusetts LLC$500$500Annual, anniversary monthMA Secretary of the CommonwealthAnnual Report
Nevada LLC$425$350Annually, anniversary monthNV Secretary of StateAnnual List of Members + Business License
Tennessee LLC$300$300 minimumAnnual, April 1TN Secretary of StateAnnual Report
North Carolina LLC$125$200Annual, April 15NC Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Texas LLC$300$0 for most LLCs (But every year, you have to make a No Tax Due Report and a Public Information Report.)Annual, May 15TX ComptrollerPublic Information Report + Franchise Tax
Oregon LLC$100$100Annual, anniversary monthOR Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Rhode Island LLC$150$50Annual, February 1 to May 1RI Secretary of StateAnnual Report
South Dakota LLC$150$50Annual, anniversary, monthSD Secretary of StateAnnual Report
Vermont LLC$125$35Annual, March 15VT Secretary of StateAnnual Report

FAQs on LLC US State Fees

Q1: Do I have to renew my LLC every year?

Answer: A limited liability company, or LLC, must pay a renewal fee every one or two years, depending on the state. At the state level, the LLC business entity is formed. It possesses the characteristics of both corporations and partnerships. LLC owners, like corporations, are not personally liable for corporate debts. LLCs have greater operational flexibility, yet they, like sole proprietorships and partnerships, are taxed as pass-through organizations.

Q2: What are LLC annual fees in California?

Answer: Each LLC that does business or is organized in California is required to pay an annual tax of $800. Even if you are not running the business, you will have to pay this tax every year until you close your LLC.

Q3: How do I pay for my LLC?

Answer: As the owner of a limited liability company or LLC, you will typically be paid through an owner’s draw. This payment method essentially transfers a portion of the company’s cash reserves to you for personal use. These draws are divided among the partners in multi-member LLCs.

Bottom Line

Finally, the US is one of the best countries to start a business from anywhere in the world. But here, every state is different with different potentiality and costs. You have to know how to draw the line between these two factors. That’s why you need to be aware of state fees for LLCs earlier.

So, as a smart guy, you always compare your filing fees and annual fees for the LLC in different states, and then you can go for the formation of the LLC. To establish your LLC, you can contact Business Globalizer.

Related Post